Prevent users from changing their name

Note: This feature can only be controlled by organization administrators.

By default, any user can change their name by going through the steps given here, but administrators can enable a setting that prevents them from changing their own names via the Zulip UI.

  1. Go to the Organization permissions tab of the Manage organization page.

  2. Select the Prevent users from changing their name checkbox under the User identity section.

  3. Click on the Save changes button to save any changes you made to your organization settings.