User groups

User groups allow you to mention multiple users at once. When you mention a user group, everyone in the group is notified as if they were individually mentioned.

Note that user groups are not the same as group private messages. If you're trying to send a group of people a message, you'll want to either create a stream, or send a group private message.

Create a user group

  1. From your desktop, click on the gear () in the upper right corner.

  2. Select Manage organization.

  3. On the left, click User groups.

  4. Under Add a new user group, enter a Name and Description.

  5. Click Save.

  6. Find the group in the list below, and add members. Zulip will notify everyone who is added.

Modify a user group

Organization administrators can modify any user group. Members can modify any user group they are a part of. Guests cannot modify user groups.

  1. From your desktop, click on the gear () in the upper right corner.

  2. Select Manage organization.

  3. On the left, click User groups.

  4. Find the group.

  5. Click on the group name or description to edit.

  6. Add or remove users (including yourself). Click outside the box to save. Zulip will notify everyone who is added or removed.