View and edit your message drafts

When you close the compose box with content in it, Zulip stores the content in a draft, so that you never lose your work and need to retype a message. Zulip's Drafts UI allows you to retrieve, edit, and eventually send these drafts.

Note: Drafts are stored in your client, not on the server. For example, drafts you create on the web application will not be accessible from the mobile app, and vice versa.

View your drafts

To view a list of all your currently saved drafts, you can open the Drafts modal by clicking the Drafts button on the left side of the compose box located at the bottom of your window, clicking the Drafts link located at the bottom-left corner of an open compose box, or pressing the d key. Upon doing so, the Drafts modal will appear, displaying all of the drafts you currently have, in the order that they were created.

Drafts modal

Each draft created from a discarded stream message is displayed with the following information:

  • Stream — If the discarded message that the draft was created from had a specified stream, the draft will display the message's specified stream in the top-left corner.

  • Topic — If the discarded message that the draft was created from had a specified topic, the draft will display the message's topic to the right of the message's stream.

  • Content — The content of the discarded message that the draft was created from is displayed as the draft's content.

If a draft was created from a discarded private message instead of a stream message, the private message's recipient(s) will be displayed in place of the stream and topic.

There are various keyboard shortcuts that allow you to easily navigate the Drafts modal and quickly clean up drafts you no longer want.

Edit a draft

To edit the content of a draft, click the pencil () icon or press the Enter key to open the selected draft in the compose box, where you can change the contents of the draft.

To save the changes you made to the draft, exit out of the compose box by clicking the x () or pressing the Esc key.

Note: Drafts cannot be converted from one message type to another (stream to private message and vice versa). You can use copy-paste to transfer your content in this situation.

Send a draft

Once you are ready to send a draft as a message, click the pencil () icon or press the Enter key to open the selected draft in the compose box. You can now send the draft as a message by pressing the Enter key or clicking the Send button, depending on your settings.

Delete a draft

You can delete the selected draft by clicking the trash () icon or pressing the Backspace key.

Warning: Discarded drafts cannot be retrieved, so please be careful while you are deleting drafts.